After installing and configuring ClearOS 7.2 with Samba Directory (Beta), Samba Directory is not working.  After I installed Samba Directory and going to System/Account/Users, it gives this error message and this has been earlier reported to ClearOS.

Ooops! Strong(er) authentication required
Ooops! Strong(er) authentication required

Or this error message:

LDAP is offline
LDAP is offline

Even though Samba Directory is running:

Samba Directory is running
Samba Directory is running

I usually give step-by-step what I used to installing and configure, but both ClearOS and Samba Directory is a mess.  That’s the only polite way to say it, I guess.

I used a complex password for both ClearOS and Samba Directory, using upper and letter case, numbers and a special symbol – but accessing Users it still gives the same error message.

I first tried a simple password for ClearOS.  It took the password but when I try to change it in the Dashboard, the first time it only said “Failure to Update”.  I updated the password by using ssh.

When I use one DNS server, it seems to configure ClearOS and Samba Directory. But when adding two DNS servers, the first one is my ClearOS IP, I keep getting error messages about can’t reach clearos for updates and error message about registering:

DNS lookup failed
DNS lookup failed

Even though it said ‘DNS lookup succeeded’:

DNS lookup succeeded.
DNS lookup succeeded.

This is my Samba Directory configuration page.  This time it said it is Running, but sometimes it says it has Stopped:

Samba is Running
Samba is Running

and a couple of time it is said it’s Dead.

Samba is Dead
Samba is Dead

I go on and on about the error messages for ClearOS or Samba Directory (Beta), but why?  I read the User Manual and did what it said, even though it only half matched what I saw configuring and what it said in the User Manual.   I would not use for production server, and maybe not a test server, until they resolve some of numerous error messages and fix the User Manual.

References:

https://www.clearos.com/resources/documentation/clearos/index:userguide7
https://www.clearos.com/clearfoundation/software/clearos-7-community/marketplace/server/Samba_Directory_(Beta)

2 thoughts on “ClearOS 7.2 Community and Samba Directory (Beta) – not working

    1. Hi Ryan Pannell, It was a virtual that I did about 7 months ago. It was a fresh install and I don’t remember seeing any firewall in the dashboard and I did not add a firewall in ClearOS (if there is one). One of the error, “Strong(er) Authentication required”, has been reported to ClearOS several times before. The instructions on ClearOS how to install Samba Directory (Beta) did not match up to install ClearOS Community, and these is my biggest pet peeve. Since I did not match up, I did not try it again. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

